Where was I?

Wow. I actually had to go back and read my old posts to remember what’s been going on since then. Answer?

A LOT.

In a nutshell:

1. Pain in my right side turns out to be labral tear in my hip joint and I need to have surgery.

2. What do I do after I learn that I have a malformed hip joint? I run my first trail race.

Schiller Chiller

BOOYAH! Take THAT, injured body! You think you can keep me down?! WELL YOU CAN’T oh wait you can….

(BTW, I already signed up for next years Schiller Chiller. Yeah – it was THAT awesome. Even though they ran out of food. And water.)

3. Johnmas came and went.

holiday card final 2

Red heart  picmonkey.

I remember a time when I would have never sent out a holiday card with my mug on it. I don’t know what compelled me to do it this year, except maybe the size of the picture on the card made it okay? Also, I was having them printed at Walgreens which meant it would be on picture paper and I thought it would be weird to have it printed on picture paper without having a picture on it.

(That’s from NYE 2011)

The Boy’s birthday was fun. We had a small group of people go out to dinner and then enjoyed a few drinks more with an even smaller group.

4. IT’S 2013!

We did it J+S+N style. The Boy and I went out for New Year’s Eve Eve dinner, and spent NYE at home with The Puppy.

For NYEE dinner we went to Café Touché. I love this place. The food is good, the atmosphere is lovely, and it’s located in a great neighborhood not that far from ours. My boss gave us a gift certificate, so our entire meal was free and I was able to try some new dishes. The GC covered the whole tab plus a hefty tip.

The next night I made dinner and we hung out.

NYE 2012rev1

Kickin’ it cas, wearin’ my Hot Chocolate hoodie, snuggin’ with my dudes.

(and if you’re wondering, yes, the event suuuuuucked but I still had a great time. Also, the first definition from UD does apply in this case.)

We toasted the new year with some TJ’s Almond Creek. The Boy and I love this stuff. Admittedly, it’s no Veuve Clicquot (my fav), but it’s a great compromise for couples with one person who has a more, shall we say, developed palate for champers (guess who that is) and one who is not so picky.

2013 will be The Year Of Organization. This fall I organized my car and my handbag and it’s amazing what a difference it makes to actually know where your crap is. I want to make sure I know where ALL my crap is, in my house and in my office at work.

My only other goal is to bear what defines me in mind as much as possible, which is that I am a human being and I want to be that one thing to the best of my ability and I want to BE to the best of my ability.

5. We brought this little monster into our lives.

Lulu sleeping

This is Lulu. Holy crap. I have been wanting a second dog since we got the first one. I just have one question: What the f&@% was I thinking??

We found her randomly (I’ll tell the story when I do a longer post on her) at a Chicago shelter. She was rescued from a dog hoarding house where she lived with about 100 dogs. Sad. So sad.

But she is a handful. She’s currently doing a stint at the Crisis Nursery for Dogs, otherwise known as my mother’s house.

Long story short, she and Nemo don’t really see eye to eye, and her presence made Nemo hide from us and drove The Boy and me to freak the F out. We’re currently regrouping and trying to figure out how to handle the situation.

6. My right eye has suddenly started to see weird things. It’s like seeing a 3D image without the glasses. I’ve been to the ER and an ophthalmologist and the best guess is that it’s a migraine halo. Never had one of those before. Why, hello there, 40! I suspect it has something to do with numbers 1 & 5.

7. Oh, yeah. I also turn 40 this month.

Try This

Ice skating! If you haven’t tried it, you should. Losers.

Read This

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Y’all can find/follow me on Goodreads at goodreads.com/spideygal

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

