Win/Fail??

Or Fail/Win? Not sure yet.

YESTERDAY’S WORKOUT (haven’t posted one of THOSE in awhile)

Upper body workout (with some adjustments) from this book.

25 minutes in the pool which resulted in swimming 500 yards.

20 minute walk with The Puppy.

I’m getting better at the swimming thing. I actually stick my entire face in the water when I do the freestyle stroke. I do still have to stop half way through a length to sputter and clear the water from my nose, but I can now start back up again almost immediately and finish the length with hardly a break. WIN! I didn’t have a ton of time after my upper body workout, so I cut my swim a bit short (yes, I’m VERY slow). Also, there were a ton of people pouring into the pool area and I’m terrified of someone trying to share a lane with me since I flail my arms around and kick wildly like the rotten swimmer I am, so I got the heck out of there while I still had a little dignity. Flailing? Definitely a FAIL.

I first encountered The Jump Off: 60 Days To A Hip-Hop Hard Body by Mark Jenkins about 7 and a half years ago. I can’t remember if it was Fitness Magazine or Glamour, but one of them ran a story on Jenkin’s then new book and it looked like something I could handle, so I gave it a shot. They only published a few exercising for the lower body portion of the workout and I didn’t even do all of them. Amazingly, after about a month of doing the routine 3 times a week, I noticed that my thighs were actually looking smaller, my backside was looking higher, rounder, and firmer, and even my then-boyfriend (now husband) started commenting on the transformation. NOTHING had working to tighten my tush since I quit figure skating when I was 14. I stopped doing the routine when I moved in with The Boy and I lost the workout pages in the move. I couldn’t remember the name of the book OR the author and my reference fu had completely failed me in my attempts to locate any mention of the article online. Then suddenly this year I remembered it. Kind of out of the blue. And my library had one of the only copies of the book that exist in our library system. I decided that since I’ve been too much of a wuss to try New Rules Of Lifting For Women I would go back to what had worked before.

I’ve been doing the routines consistently for about two weeks, and I’m already noticing a difference. Now, I weigh a bit more than I did back in 2004/2005, so I don’t expect the results to be as dramatic, but I’m excited.

I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

